Random Record: Blondie ‘The Best of’

The Best of Blondie was Blondie‘s first compilation and went multi-platinum twice in both the UK and the US, which I think works out as 8 million in total. Correct me if I’m wrong! Blonde bombshell Debbie Harry is, arguably, the original queen of punk, pop and rock, and front woman of one of the biggest American new wave bands.

Note the hand of Harry’s partner, guitarist Chris Stein. His eyes are unquestionably saying: “Hands off. She’s mine.”

Kicking off with a remix of single ‘Heart of Glass‘, a song that featured originally on the band’s third album Parallel Lines and alone reached platinum and gold statuses. The huge hit is followed by less well-known song ‘Denis‘, that interestingly is sung in a mixture of French and English. Perhaps this was done purposely to appeal to a wider audience? As it certainly helped to attract a more international following and raise the band’s profile further.

With the next track I don’t know if I’m ashamed or not to know all, yes all, the words to ‘The Tide Is High’. It would be fine if I first heard it from Blondie but no, Atomic Kitten gave me the pleasure back in 2002. Well you know, I was 10 going on 11. Forgive me? It’s quite rocky with a slight Cuban feel to it, especially in the drumming and the rhythm. I also love Harry’s cheeky shouts whilst she’s singing. She clearly loves what she’s doing and is having a brilliant time in the process. Personally, I’m not a massive fan of ‘In The Flesh’. It’s kind of a standard love ballad and unfortunately a little bit too icky for my liking. Interesting to note that the first four tracks are all somewhat different, clearly showing the diversity of Blondie as a band and the scope of their musicianship .

I instantly recognise ‘Sunday Girl’, but then again, who can’t recognise a Blondie song? The double backbeat makes the track a lot more alluring than it would have been with a straight rhythm, whilst the guitar parts clearly define Blondie as a rock band more than pop one.

Researching the band, I don’t quite agree with classifying Blondie as punk. Personally I would go more with new wave pop rock, despite Debbie Harry’s involvement with the American punk scene. Then again in ‘Hanging on the Telephone’ Harry’s vocals are more boisterous with a faint punk edge. All Blondie‘s songs are dripping with lyrical hooks, especially the line: “Leave me hanging on the telephone.” I’d go as far as saying my favourite track of the album.

Wait, since when did Blondie become a hip-hop band? Apparently Harry can rap, and actually rap quite well. Side Two opens with ‘Rapture‘. A slight false start, but then I think that’s my copy of the record. The music begins jazzy, disco-esque but I’m not too keen on her vocals. I’d say her voice is a lot sexier an octave or so lower, but then I’ve still got ‘Hanging on…‘ in my head. The track then diverts into hip-hop and fades out with a sax solo.

In my opinion Side One contains stronger songs than Side Two. ‘Picture This‘, ‘Union City Blue‘ and ‘(I’m Always Touched By Your) Presence Dear’ are great songs but don’t possess that spark of fire that songs like ‘Heart of Glass‘, ‘Sunday Girl’ and ‘Hanging on…‘ have in buckets. However, I say that and then ‘Call Me’ comes along.

I was first introduced to ‘Call Me‘ through a cover by, American metal band, In This Moment. It’s very simplistic but has lust and temptation pouring through the speakers. It’s no wonder it became the Blondie‘s biggest selling single. ‘Atomic‘ is another killer song patiently waiting as the penultimate track. It’s that four note riff, beat like a ticking bomb and Harry’s gorgeous vocals that makes it utterly irresistible. Final track ‘Rip Her To Shreds‘ literally rips Blondie’s subject to shreds. It’s rumoured to be about punk rock singer Cherry Vanilla, but it’s also been suggested that it’s Nancy Spungen, girlfriend of Sid Vicious. Nonetheless Harry’s really got the claws out: “Yeah, she’s so dull, come on rip her to shreds.”

Ultimately, Debbie Harry still remains an icon who paved the way for passionate female front women, whereas Blondie is a band that pushed genre boundaries, before merging them back together. Either way, they’re a band whose music will certainly never be forgotten.

Rapture

Atomic

Released in 1981 on Chrysalis Records
Side One – ‘Heart of Glass’, ‘Denis’, ‘The Tide Is High’, ‘In The Flesh’, ‘Sunday Girl’, ‘Dreaming’, ‘Hanging on the Telephone’
Side Two – ‘Rapture’, ‘Picture This’, ‘Union City Blue’, ‘(I’m Always Touched By Your) Presence Dear’, ‘Call Me’, ‘Atomic’, ‘Rip Her To Shreds’

Leave a comment