A is for AC/DC – ‘Back in Black’

Thought I’d start the blog off with a well-known classic and the third highest-selling album of all time: ‘Back in Black’ by AC/DC.

When I think of AC/DC, ‘Highway to Hell’ is the track (and also album) that springs instantly to mind. Everyone loves a good singalong to its chorus and everyone instantly recognises the album cover of Angus Young depicted as the devil.

‘Back in Black’ was released the year after ‘Highway to Hell’ and in my opinion is their best album by far. Unlike ‘Highway to Hell’ I find myself singing along to every track on ‘Back in Black’ and it’s just one catchy guitar riff after another.

I love the opening of first track ‘Hells Bells’ – a solitary bell toll followed by a gorgeous guitar riff. The rest of the band are slowly added then finally the vocals: “I’m rolling thunder, pouring rain, I’m coming on like a hurricane, My lightning’s flashing across the sky, You’re only young but you’re gonna die.”

Those opening lyrics are particularly poignant as the album was dedicated to the former lead singer Bon Scott who died aged 33, only months before the album’s release. The album artwork is said to be black as a sign of mourning for Scott.

My favourite tracks have to be ‘Hells Bells’, ‘Let Me Put My Love into You’ and killer track ‘Back in Black’, featuring one of the best opening guitar riffs ever.

One of the classic hard rock albums that should be in every music lover’s collection.

Released on Albert/Atlantic Records 25th July 1980.

Side One – ‘Hells Bells’, ‘Shoot to Thrill’, ‘What Do You Do for Money Honey’, ‘Givin the Dog a Bone’, ‘Let Me Put My Love into You’
Side Two – ‘Back in Black’, ‘You Shook Me All Night Long’, ‘Have a Drink on Me’, ‘Shake a Leg’, ‘Rock and Roll Ain’t Noise Pollution’

2 thoughts on “A is for AC/DC – ‘Back in Black’

Leave a comment